St. Hilary Lodge No. 3591

About St. Hilary Lodge

St. Hilary Lodge No. 3591 was consecrated on 4th May 1912 under warrant from The United Grand Lodge of England.

The warrant of constitution was originally granted on 22nd February 1912 after a petition was raised by members of Warren Lodge No. 1276 (Wallasey), (erased in 2001)

A full Lodge history is available by clicking on this link.  Lodge History

You may  be interested to know that the cost of the original warrant was £10. 10s. 0d.

Briefly, you may be interested in the following extract - but please download our full history as a booklet.

"The remarkable growth of Freemasonry in the borough of Wallasey was fully demonstrated when a new Lodge, under the title of St. Hilary, No. 3591, was consecrated at the Masonic Hall, Liscard. There was a large and representative gathering, which included no fewer than forty-four Installed Masters.

In the absence of the Provincial Grand Master of Cheshire Bro. Lord Egerton of Tatton, who has only just returned to England after a sojourn in the South of France for the benefit of his health, the consecration was impressively performed by Bro. Lieut. Col. Hubert Cornwall Legh P.G.D. Deputy Prov. Grand Master.

Bro. Fred Broadsmith P.A.G.Reg. Prov. G. Secretary Cheshire installed Bro. W. H. Cooke P.P.G.D. as the first W. M. of the new Lodge, and the latter subsequently invested his officers, as follows;

Bro. Sir W.H. Lever, Bart, P.P.G.W. as  I.P.M.
G. H. Hindley as S. W.
Dr. T.W.N. Barlow as J. W.
Rev. W.T. Warburton P.M.  P.P.G.C.  as  Chaplain
C. Hewetson Nelson P.M. as Treasurer
A.H. Warran P.M. as Secretary
A.E. Berry as Ass. Secretary
W.D. Band as S. D.
Councillor E.G. Parkinson as J. D.
W.H. Cook P.M.  P.P.G.D. as D. C.
Lt. Col. R.R. Greene P.M. as Almoner
T. Robson as I.G.
F.A. Cooke, Dr. J.F. Nicholson, and T. Moulsdale as Stewards
Bro. A. Wrigley P.M. P.P.S.G.D. as Charity Rep. and
Bro. E.F. Scott P.M.  P.P.G.S. of West Lancashire as Tyler.

In addition to Bro. the Rev. J. Nankivell P.P.G.C. and Bro. E.F. Blakeley the above mentioned Brethren were the Founders of the Lodge."

Past Masters of St.Hilary Lodge

1912    W.H. Cooke
1913    G.H. Hindley 
1914    Dr. T.W.N. Barlow O.B.E.
1915    W.D. Band  
1916    Albert E. Berry
1917    Frank A. Cooke
1918    E.G. Parkinson 
1919    John Farley
1920    P.L. Barry
1921    A.H. Cunningham
1922    Edwin Peace J.P., O.B.E.
1923    Lt. Comm. W.H. Fry R.N.R.
1924    H.W. Peck
1925    Dr. J. McMillan M.C.
1926    A. Wrigley B.A.
1927    H. Cleator
1928    A. Parkin J.P. 
1929    Frank Lloyd Williams
1930    R.J. Reese
1931    C.E. Peck
1932    J. Boucher  
1933    W. George Reed 
1934    Col. L.St.George Wilkinson M.C. 
1935    B.J. Kelly
1936    C.E. Marsh-Lyons
1937    E.A. Kirkpatrick
1938      R.R. Atherton M.A.
1939      E.J. Werner
1940      Rev. A.V. Woodcock
1941      Clement Smith 
1942      Clement Smith
1943      Rowland Hill 
1944      Rowland Hill 
1945      Norman J. Entwistle
1946      Norman J. Entwistle
1947      F.H. Treleaven
1948      Hugh Kerridge M.A. 
1949      James Carnegie
1950      W. George Reed 
1951      G. Leslie Dawson 
1952      A. William Duckworth
1953      William D. Ellison
1954      John Talbot
1955      Gordon Cox
1956      Harold T. Moffatt
1957      Frank C. Merrils
1958      Alan R. Jones
1959      T. John Williams
1960      Richard W. Varley
1961      A. Caisley Henderson
1962      A. Caisley Henderson

1963    E. Graham Cottrell 
1964    W. Gordon Nairne
1965    Duncan A. Johnston
1966    Wilfred Lacy 
1967    Ernest T. Forster
1968    Jack N. Ryall
1969    Derek C. Davies
1970    Duncan A. Johnston
1971    Jeffrey Sidwell
1972    Guy Morrison
1973    Michael J. Foster 
1974    Kenneth R. Thiis   
1975    Jeffrey Sidwell
1976    William A. Warburton 
1977    Vivian H.V. Brown
1978    Richard J. Williamson
1979    Raymond Stockdale
1980    Roger A. Burgess  
1981    Kenneth W. Smith 
1982    William D. Ellison  
1983    A. Noel Ellis-Jones
1984    Owen M. Williams 
1985    Henry E. Cross 
1986    Kevin H. Whay
1987    Kenneth B. Chaderton 
1988    Kenneth J. Moran 
1989    George Moffatt 
1990    Graham L. Roberts
1991    Kenneth W. Smith  
1992    Andrew J. Cross 
1993    Kenneth J. Moran  
1994    Henry E. Cross
1995    J. David Brand 
1996   Geoffrey Ashcroft 
1997   David John Siviter J.P. 
1998   A. Noel Ellis-Jones 
1999  J. David Brand 
2000   Kenneth W. Smith  
2001   Stephen Davies 
2002   David A. Edge  
2004   Laurence J. Rowbottom
2005   Stephen Davies
2006   Graham L Roberts 
2007   Anthony J. Bilbao
2008   Geoffrey Ashcroft
2009  Allan R. Edwards
2010  Steve Parker
2011  Ray Bell
2012  Graham L Roberts
2013   Harry Taylor
2014   Paul Rowbottom


2015   John Horrocks


2016   Mark N Knowles